• Home
  • Cherry Picked - KU announces Kansas Certified Public Manager Program graduates for 2014

KU announces Kansas Certified Public Manager Program graduates for 2014

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

LAWRENCE – The University of Kansas Public Management Center has announced the 2014 graduates of the Kansas Certified Public Manager (CPM) program. The graduation ceremony will take place Friday, Nov. 21, in the House Chamber at the Capitol in Topeka.

The 61 graduates, who began their coursework in January, represent local, county, state or federal agencies, as well as utilities, from across Kansas. They participated in classes held in Topeka, the Kansas City area and Southeast Kansas.

“CPM students represent the very best in public service,” said Terri Callahan, program manager. “While managing full-time jobs, CPM students and their sponsoring agencies somehow find the time and energy to hone their management skills to improve public service in Kansas.”

The Kansas CPM program is a professional education opportunity for managers working in government agencies, nonprofits and organizations that contract to provide public services and meet community needs. CPM is a nationally accredited management program and certification in which participants develop and strengthen their management skills through a competency-based curriculum. Nearly 1,500 CPM graduates have earned the nationally recognized emblem of management excellence through the Kansas program, which just celebrated its 20th anniversary.

The program can fill a training gap for staff with significant technical expertise who seek to further their knowledge of current management practices. The Kansas program offers a blended learning approach of classroom hours, online learning and outside assignments to meet 300 hours of structured learning. The curriculum addresses personal and organizational integrity, managing work, leading people, developing self, public service and leadership during times of change. Along the way, participants complete a capstone project focused on an opportunity for cost savings, revenue generation, process improvement or innovation in their workplace.

Participants meet in the classroom two days per month for one year, starting in January. In 2015 CPM will be offered in three locations: Topeka, Overland Park and Southwest Kansas, rotating between Liberal (hosted by Seward County), Garden City and Dodge City. For more information or to apply, visit the KU Public Management Center’s website.

Atchison County
Christopher Channell, Atchison County

Bourbon County
Fort Scott
Paul Ballou, City of Fort Scott
Brent Crays, City of Fort Scott

Butler County
El Dorado
Tammy Schaffer, City of El Dorado
Troy Jellison, City of El Dorado Fire Department

Crawford County
Matthew Bacon, City of Pittsburg
Michael McCracken, Pittsburg State University Police
Jarrod Mendicki, City of Pittsburg
Brent Narges, City of Pittsburg Police Department
Kimberly Vogel, City of Pittsburg

Douglas County
Jim McCabria, Douglas County District Attorney's Office

Ellis County
Ryan Hagans, City of Hays
Brandon Wright, City of Hays Police Department

Finney County
Garden City
Michael Radke, Garden City Police Department

Franklin County
Dustin Coureton, Franklin County

Hamilton County
Brian Bloyd, City of Syracuse

Johnson County


Bill Stogsdill Jr., City of Fairway, Kansas

Eric Barnum, City of Olathe Fire Department
Laurie Brown, University of Kansas Edwards Campus
Bryan Hill, City of Olathe
Brandy Hodge, Johnson County Government-Human Services
Robert Kluender, City of Olathe
Cris Loomis, 10th Judicial District Court Trustee Office
Kyra Luck, Johnson County Government
Kirk Martin, Johnson County Government
Brian Sumners, City of Olathe

Overland Park
James Brown, City of Overland Park
Theo Coney, Kansas Department of Commerce
Sean Ruis, City of Overland Park

Roeland Park
Debra Mootz, City of Roeland Park

Labette County
Sandra Krider, Labette County

Cheryl Brees, Parsons State Hospital & Training Center

Lyon County
James Brull, Lyon County Highway Department
Samuel Seeley, Lyon County, Kansas

Miami County
J.R. McMahon II, Miami County

Montgomery County
Lisa Helkenberg, City of Independence Police Department
Rachel Lyon, City of Independence
Katie Southworth, City of Independence

Riley County
Cathy E. Oehm, Kansas State University

Shawnee County
Scott Askew, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office
Aaron Boehmler, Kansas Department of Transportation, Bureau of Road Design
Timothy Budge, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Kansas Immunization Program
Jessica Davis, Alcoholic Beverage Control
Nicole Hamm, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Mike Haugen, Topeka Police Department
Kerri Holthaus, Kansas Neurological Institute
Kim Howard, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Philip Hurley, Department of Administration
Shawn Kilian, Kansas Neurological Institute
Stephanie Kyriazis, National Park Service
Alisha Langham, Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Lee Anne Phelps, Kansas Department of Revenue
Robert Razo, City of Topeka
Jennifer Rezac, Kansas Department of Credit Unions
Brenda Schuette, Office of the State Fire Marshal
Elizabeth Tidwell, Kansas Neurological Institute
Jennifer VandeVelde, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Disease Control and Prevention
Rick Welton, Kansas Department of Revenue-Compliance Enforcement


Jackson County

Kansas City
Cordelia Black, City of Kansas City (General Services Department, Finance Division)
Deletta Dean, City of Kansas City
Mike Schumacher, City of Kansas City.


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration

PMC Events, Classes & Deadlines
SPAA Events & Deadlines
Social Media

Twitter Facebook Instagram Pinterest Storify Blog