• Home
  • KU announces Kansas Certified Public Manager® Program graduates for 2016

KU announces Kansas Certified Public Manager® Program graduates for 2016

Thursday, December 01, 2016

LAWRENCE – The University of Kansas Public Management Center has announced this year’s graduates of the Kansas Certified Public Manager program. The graduation ceremony will take place Friday, Dec. 2, in the House Chamber at the Capitol.

The 75 graduates, who began their coursework in January, represent local, county, state or federal agencies, as well as utilities, from across Kansas. They participated in classes in Topeka, the Kansas City area and Hays.

Of these participants, 20 are graduates of the Law Enforcement Leadership Academy Command School. They completed their CPM certification through classroom instruction and online work, and they will be included in the graduation ceremony.

“The Kansas CPM program is a dynamic and engaging certification program of 300 contact hours that utilizes a capstone project (as the final exam) and course materials that inspire new ways of thinking and innovative approaches to solving problems,” said Terri Callahan, program manager. “I am very impressed with the caliber and dedication of the CPM graduates. Their love for public service and leadership is very evident by their commitment and dedication to their organizations, communities and the citizens they serve.”

The Kansas CPM program is a professional education opportunity for managers working in government agencies, nonprofits and organizations that contract to provide public services and meet community needs. CPM is a nationally accredited management program and certification in which participants develop and strengthen their management skills through a competency-based curriculum. Close to 1,600 CPM graduates have earned the nationally recognized emblem of management excellence through the Kansas program.

The program can fill a training gap for staff with significant technical expertise who seek to further their knowledge of current management practices. The Kansas program offers a blended learning approach of classroom hours, online learning and outside assignments to meet 300 hours of structured learning. The curriculum addresses personal and organizational integrity, managing work, leading people, developing self, public service and leadership during times of change. Along the way, participants complete a capstone project focused on an opportunity for cost savings, revenue generation, process improvement or innovation in their workplace.

Participants meet in the classroom two days per month for one year, starting in January. In 2017 CPM will be offered in three locations: Topeka, the Kansas City area and southeast Kansas, rotating between Independence and Pittsburg. For more information or to apply, visit the KU Public Management Center’s website or contact Terri Callahan at tcallahan@ku.edu or 785-864-6864.

The graduates are:

Allen County


Brian Dillow, City of Humboldt Police Department



Bryan Murphy, Allen County Sheriff's Office

Angela Murphy, Allen County 911 Communications Center


Atchison County


Jack Laurie, Atchison County Sheriff's Office


Bourbon County

Fort Scott

David Bruner, City of Fort Scott

Traci Reed, City of Fort Scott


Butler County


Justin Phillips, Andover Police Department


Douglas County


Anthony Brixius, Lawrence Police Department

Paula Rapp, Douglas County Youth Services

Ann Spitz, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Mark Thiel, City of Lawrence

Mark Unruh, Lawrence Police Department


Ellis County


Timothy Greenwood, Hays Police Department

Darin Myers, Ellis County Fire and Emergency Management

Ann Pfeifer, Ellis County Treasurer's Office


Geary County

Grandview Plaza

Shawn Peirano, Grandview Plaza Police Department


Harvey County


Bryan Hall, Newton Police Department


Jackson County, Missouri

Kansas City

Andrea Dorch, City of Kansas City

Brian Hernandez, City of Kansas City

John Pajor, City of Kansas City

Katherine Randolph, City of Kansas City

June Valdivia, United Services Community Action Agency



Briana Burrichter, City of Raytown

Rasool Haydaripoor, City of Raytown

Donnie Wilson, United Services Community Action Agency


Johnson County


Richard DeVries, City of Lenexa

Fred Ferris, Lenexa Police Department



Bradley Clay, City of Olathe

Scott Jennings, City of Olathe

Kevin Joles, City of Olathe

Heather Phillips, City of Olathe


Overland Park

Nancy McNellis, City of Overland Park

Eric Sandberg, City of Overland Park


Prairie Village

David Scott Morrison, City of Prairie Village



Jason Bowman, City of Shawnee


Leavenworth County


Andrew Dedeke, Leavenworth County Sheriff's Office


McPherson County


Murray McGee, City of Moundridge

Sheri Parker, City of Moundridge


Montgomery County


Kwin Bromley, Coffeyville Police Department


Pottawatomie County


Chad Kinsley, Pottawatomie County

Debra Quintanilla, Kansas State Board of Nursing


Reno County


Jason Yingling, Hutchinson Police Department


Riley County


Timothy Hegarty, Riley County Police Department

Alvin Perez, Riley County

Julie Winter, Riley County


Russell County


Duane Banks, City of Russell

Richard Krause, City of Russell

Shane Preston, City of Russell

Steven Wells, City of Russell


Sedgwick County


Donald McElroy, Goddard Police Department



Jolene Graham, City of Maize


Park City

Phillip Bostian, Park City Police Department



Kristine Polian, City of Valley Center


Shawnee County


Caleb Acree, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office

Rebecca Bahr, Office of the State Fire Marshal

Jason Barney, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Kristi Carter, Kansas Bureau of Investigation

Ashley Eichman, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Jana Harden, Topeka Police Department

Tammie Lord, Kansas Highway Patrol

Jason Meinholdt, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Brooke Miller

Melanie Mills-Bergers, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office

Megan Milner, Kansas Juvenile Corrections Complex

Matthew Simpson, Washburn University

Colleen Stuart, Topeka Police Department

Jessica Willard, Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Corrie Wright, City of Topeka

Steven Zeller, Kansas Highway Patrol


Sherman County


Shauna Johnson, City of Goodland


Wyandotte County


Michael Kelling, Edwardsville Police Department


Kansas City, Kansas

Daniel Soptic, Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office.


The KU Public Management Center is dedicated to meeting the professional development and academic needs of organizations and individuals at all levels within the public sector.


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration

PMC Events, Classes & Deadlines
SPAA Events & Deadlines
Social Media

Twitter Facebook Instagram Pinterest Storify Blog